

## **57<sup>th</sup> NSCSW ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES** June 10<sup>th</sup>, 2020

Meeting held via Zoom 12:00 - 1:00 pm

## Presiding: Ezra Wexler, President Alec Stratford, Executive Director/Registrar

1. The meeting was called to order at 12:00 pm by Council President

Council President declared the College stands in solidarity with the Nova Scotia Association of Black Social Workers (NSABSW). A statement submitted about Racism; submitted by member, Juanita Paris, was shared. A moment of silence was observed for George Floyd.

- 2. Approval of the AGM Agenda Motion: To approve Moved: Todd Leader Seconded: Crystal Hill Motion Carried
- Approval of the Minutes from the 56<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting Motion: To approve Moved: Debbie Reimer Seconded: Todd Leader Motion Carried
- 4. President's Report Motion: To approve Moved: Shelley Curtis-Thompson Seconded: Kate Matheson Motion Carried
- Executive Director/Registrar's Report Motion: To approve Moved: Jacquelyn Allan Seconded: Karla Bond Motion Carried
- 6. Board of Examiner's Report

Tonya Grant, added the following comment to her report in response to the death of George Floyd, "Through social movements is where change comes; social workers need to act and reflect"

Motion: To approve Moved: Todd Leader Seconded: Joelle Badman Motion Carried



- Complaints Committee's Report Motion: To approve Moved: Shireen Singer Seconded: Laura Mullally Motion Carried
- 8. Treasurer's Report Motion: To approve Moved: Bailey Chapman Seconded: Crystal Hill Motion Carried

A report of the 2019 audited Financial Statements was provided by Auditor, Wayne Keddy of Lyle Tilley Davidson, Chartered Accountants

Motion: To approve the 2019 Audit Moved: Rachael Surette Seconded: Tonya Grant Motion Carried

Motion: To approve appointment of Lyle Tilley Davidson as the College's Auditors for 2020 Moved: Lynn Brogan Seconded: Laurie Ehler Motion Carried

Motion: To approve proposed 2021 Budget Moved: Shireen Singer Seconded: Shelley Curtis-Thompson Motion Carried

- Approval of 2019 Annual Report, as submitted Motion: To approve Moved: Donna Fitzpatrick Seconded: Jim Morton Motion Carried
- 10. Announcement of Council Elections and Appointments
  - Lynn Brogan, President
  - Treasurer, Vacant
  - Ezra Wexler, Past President
  - BOE Chair, Joline Comeau
  - Crystal Hill, Northern Region 2nd term
  - Norther Region (2) Vacant
  - Catherine Kehoe, Eastern Region 1st term
  - Karla Bond, Eastern Region (2) 2nd term
  - Central Region Vacant
  - Laura Rodriquez, Western Region 2nd term
  - Indigenous Member Vacant
- 11. Adjournment Meeting was adjourned by Council President at 1:08 pm